Jane Goodall Receives Benjamin Franklin Medal

America’s oldest science award—the Benjamin Franklin Medal—is being presented to Dr. Goodall today at a gala awards celebration at the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia. Dr. Goodall will receive the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Life Science for her pioneering study of chimpanzees in Gombe National Park, Tanzania.

The Franklin Institute Awards are among the oldest comprehensive science and technology awards programs in the world. Reflecting the spirit of discovery embodied by Benjamin Franklin, the awards have recognized preeminent accomplishment in science and technology on an international level since the Institute was founded in 1824. Previous Franklin Institute laureates include Stephen Hawking, Gordon Moore, Alexander Graham Bell, Albert Einstein, Thomas Edison, Marie and Pierre Curie, Jacques Cousteau, and the Wright brothers.

Benjamin Franklin Medals will also be awarded for achievement in Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Computer and Cognitive Science, Earth Science, Electrical Engineering, and Physics. In addition, the Institute will present Bower Awards for Achievement in Science in the Field of Aviation to Paul B. MacCready and for Business Leadership to Herbert D. Kelleher.

"These exceptional scientists are taking up the torch of a 178-year-old legacy of extraordinary achievement in science and technology,” said Institute President Dennis M. Wint. “Each of these laureates has made a far-reaching contribution to our understanding of the universe and to improving the quality of our lives."


JGI News and Highlights

Featured Video

Walk in the footsteps of Jane Goodall with Google Maps

Featured Video

Featured Video

Saving Chimps From Snares (Graphic Images)!

This is the story of Mugu Moja, a young juvenile chimpanzee.